Happening Again

It’s happening again. There have been a few moments of interconnectedness that have led me to the author David Mitchell and the book “The Reason I Jump.” My mind is racing trying to figure out what I’m supposed to do, but I’m going to take my advice from the past 2 or so weeks and take some deep breaths and follow the road rather than look for it’s end. It’s all very exciting though ^_^

 

Just for my own archive of how this works, here’s what’s happened. I received a 25$ gift card to Barnes and Nobel from my dad for Christmas, and a Kindle from my mom. I figured I’d use the money to buy a book I wanted to own. I went and looked for Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. They didn’t have it, which is surprising, but they had his first book “Ghostwritten.” I bought it and have spent the passed 2 days mostly reading it. It’s just fabulous (and there are a lot of connections to the movie version of Cloud Atlas, so I’m wondering if he connects all of his books. I can’t wait to read the rest). While reading, I’ve taken a few random breaks to do things like re-watch Cloud Atlas, do favors asked of me, and contemplate my version of this story. I like to read because it allows me to follow random urges a little more freely than my usual reason-demanding self.

During a nice talk with my mom, she mentioned to me that I should read a book called “The Reason I Jump.” It was written by a 13 year old autistic boy in Japan. My mom’s summary reminded me of an American version of the story. (http://carlysvoice.com/)

So now that I’ve hit 7/10 of the book, I took a break to look up David Mitchell so I could understand how he became so cool. Right there, at the bottom of the wiki page, was the last bit of relevant information “One of Mitchell’s children is autistic, and in 2013, he and wife Keiko translated into English a book written by an autistic 13-year-old Japanese boy, The Reason I Jump: One Boy’s Voice from the Silence of Autism.”

The book is next on my to-do list after I finish Ghostwritten. That’s all I know for now.

Leave a Reply

